top of page

Girl's Weekend in Cambridge City, Indiana

SO, this post is slightly different...with the fact that Scott wasn't with me & I wasn't in the Swinger. However, this WAS a fun trip with my friend Sandy...and definitely worth mentioning...so here we go!

Awhile back I had google searched 'Girls Weekend Indiana' to try and find us something to do since we were SUPPOSED to be on a cruise...but then of course COVID hit and our plans were changed. What I found was a brochure for Richmond / Cambridge City & we ended up at a gorgeous AirBNB called The Lofts on Main in CC :)

I'm realizing that I didn't take enough pictures of the place, but it's upstairs...so not handicap accessible, but spanking brand new and super comfy. I highly recommend it for a quaint little town stay! We were treated to a gift pack of coupons, wine and two super large cupcakes from the bakery nearby. We played games, each winning one and settled in with drinks and foot wraps!

On the way to Cambridge City we made a couple stops...one at an antique store and another at a fun little place called Dead Headers Greenhouse. It was totally the fun tractor that made us do a U-turn & of course I climbed in for a picture (Sandy's not so good at those, but she is super great at talking into gourd-phones)! HA!

Another fun stop was The Warm Candle Company. You MUST stop at this place! It's one of those that I've seen billboards for on our way to and from NY, but never took the time to check out. It is TOTALLY worth it! I think we were there over two hours!

'SOUTH' - Indy's Southside Magazine did a great story on the murals of Wayne County. I took a picture of a couple of them, but the article gives you details that are just too much to share here...but SO worth the trip to see if you have the time. And frankly, who doesn't have the time for a fun road trip when everything else is buttoned up due to the pandemic?

Here's a link to the story & the pictures I took:

Cambridge City itself had a TON of quaint antique shops, restaurants, a bakery...there was definitely enough to keep us busy...but only as busy as we wanted to be. We also watched a couple of movies and just chilled...Sandy even finishing a good book. The weather was perfect and the people were super friendly...we had a great weekend away!

And of course we had to make another stop on our way out of town...and I finally had my first Cortland apple in years! Mom always got them each year from someone selling them alongside the road in Raymondville, NY...I was SO happy to find them in Indiana at Dougherty Orchards...and of course Sandy wanted a picture of the super-sized pig!

BUT to add just one more item to the list...there's this gravesite in the middle of the road that Sandy told me about...so on the way home I just had to stop and take a couple of pictures.

Anyone else ever been on this road in Johnson county??? The Southside Times wrote an article on it this past February:

And well, that's it for this adventure! It was fun to get away to relax and shop and have girl time with Sandy, but it was also wonderful to get home to Scott.

Until next time,

Natalie


bottom of page